DAF-ARMM
Official Website of Department of Agriculture & Fisheries

ARMM PRODUCTION

HALAL- 2015 to September 2016 Accomplishment

PROFILE

INTRODUCTION

The Arabic word Halal means lawful. In the Holy Qur-an, Allah commands Muslims and all of mankind to eat of the Halal things. Among the many verses of the Qur-an that convey this message, here are a few:

O mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and wholesome in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. Lo! He is an open enemy for you. (2:168)

O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith we have provided you, and render thanks to Allah if it is (indeed) He whom you worship. (2:172)

Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed on you as  food lawful and good, and keep your duty to allah and whom you are believers. (5:88)

 

The following products are definitely Halal:

  1. Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats)
  2. Honey
  3.  Fish
  4. Plants (which are jot intoxicant)
  5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables
  6. Fresh and dried fruits
  7. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, etc.
  8. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc.

Meat

 

Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabibah (slaughtered according to islamic Law) in order for their meat to be suitable for consumption. Zabibah will be discussed later on in this brochure.

The Arabic word Haram means unlawful. The following items have been categorically spelled out as being Haram by jurists in light of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah (traditions) of the Prophet Mohammad (please be upon him):

  1. Pigs
  2. Blood
  3. Carnivorous animals
  4. Almost all reptiles and insects
  5. The bodies of dead animals
  6. Halal animals which are not slaughtered according to the islamic law
  7. Wine, Ethyl Alcohol, and Sprints.

 

The above mentioned items are Haram and must be avoided by all Musllims.

  1. Alcohol
  2. Animal Shortening
  3. Animal Fat
  4. Bacon
  5. Broth (from animals)
  6. Enzymes : Microbal Enzymes are okay.
  7. Ethanol
  8. Ethyl alcohol
  9. Gelatin
  10. Gin
  11. Ham
  12. L-cysteine (if from human hair)
  13. Lard
  14. Lipase: only animal lipase need be avoided
  15. Pepsin
  16. Rennet : all forms should be avoided except for plant/microbial/synthetic.
  17. Rum
  18. Stock
  19. Wine
  20. Tallow
  21. Vanilla extract/flavour
  22. Whey: should be avoided unless the rennet used in its production is plant/microbal/synthetic
  23. Look out for these ingredients when you shop always remember to read the ingredients before you buy any food products.
  24. May be consumed if from Halal, Zabibah animals. For details on these section at eat-halal.com. Please note that the information regarding ingredients is deemed to be correct and complete at the time of publication (May 2002). Addition may be made at any time. For the most up-to-date information, please visit eat-halal.com.
  25. Zabibah
  26. The procedure for Zabibah is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim. The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the three main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal (without serving it), the slaughter must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar.
  27. Why does the animal have o be slaughtered by a Muslim? Can’t we eat the meat of animals slaughtered by the people of the Book (Jews and Christians)?
  28. Allah Taala says in the Noble Quran:
  29. Today I have made permissible for you pure things and the food of those who were given the Book (Ahlul-Kitaab) is also Halal for you ‘ (Quran 5:4)
  30. Overtly the above Aayat reads that the Zabibah of the Ahlul-Kitaab (People of the Book) is permissible, but the fundamental principle  must be understood in order to understand the Quran i.e. ‘One part of the Quran explains the other’. Therefore, this verse should be understood in the light of another verse relating to the same has been taken and his (not taking Allah’s name) practice is transgression’ . (Quran 6:121)
  31. While the former verse explicitly states that the Zabibah of the Abdul-Kitaab is permissible and the latter says, ‘Do not eat unless Allah’s name has been taken’, in the light of both these verses, it is understood that the Zabibah of the Ahlul-Kitaab is permissible only if the name of Allah is taken at the time of slaughtering.
  32. The Ahlul-Kitaab used to take Allah’s name when slaughtering an animal, therefore , their Zabibah was also Halal for Muslims. It is for the same reason that an animal slaughtered by the Mushrikeen (polytheists), etc. is not permissible. The Ahlul-Kitaab of today are recognized by name, less faith. There is no guarantee that they take the name of Allah/God when slaughtering an animal. Furthermore, they cannot be anymore trusted in matters pertaining to Halal/Haram.
  33. Since there is uncertainty in the above slaughter manner, the jurists are unanimous that which is doubtful. Unless there is certainty that the Ahlul-Kitaab read the Tasmiyah’ i.e. take the name of God when slaughtering an animal then only will the meat be permissible. We suggest that the Muslims in the U.S.A. and U.K. slaughter the animals themselves. A committee be appointed and look into ways to facilitate for Halal meat slaughtered by Muslims. This will make them independent from Christian/Jewish sources.
  34. Another proposition may be that the meat sold on the market are packed, sealed and stamped by a Muslim organization consisting of reliable scholars and Ulama who have proper Islamic knowledge of the principles pertaining to Halal/Haram of the Shariah (Islamic Law). And Allah Ta’aala knows Best
  35. The content under “Why…? Is courtesy of Multi Ebrahim Desai, Madrassah In’aamiyyah, Camperdown, South Africa, and Ask imam.com

 

Q. Can we eat fish burgers from Burger King, Mcdonalds or Harvey’s (in Canada)?

A. In Canada, the fish burgers at Burger King and Harvey’s should be avoided because the oil in which the fish is cooked could be contaminated with non-Zabibah meat. To the best of our knowledge, the fish burgers at our knowledge, the fish burgers at Mcdonald’s may be consumed, but without the cheese (order without cheese.

Q. I have been tying to find a list of Halal food products sold in Canada. Could you please tell me where to obtain such a list?

A. We have not complied a list of Halal products in Canada because the ,arket is ever-changing and manufactures are always changing the ingredients in their products. That is why, when required, we go on a product to product basis. We are not aware of any such list for Canada.

Q. Is Kosher gelatin Halal or not?

A. Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jwes regardless of its source of origin. For Muslims, if gelation is prepared from swine or from a non- Zabibah animal, it is Haram. For this reason, Kosher gelatin should be avoided.

 

Eat-halal.com is non-profit website run by volunteers devoted to helping Muslims eat according to Islamic dietary laws. Eat-halal.com features weekly updates regarding the Halal/Haram status of various food products, updated ingredients information, monthly articles and polls, a forum, a Q & A section, Halal finder, and much more. Please visit http://www.eat-halal.com and please spread the word about this website. For further information, please e-mail your questions to questions@eat-halal.com.

 

Consume only products with Authentic Halal Certification  Mark(accountability)

 

GOALS:

Sustainable supply of Halal Compliant  Meat and Aqua-Marine Products

 

OBJECTIVE:

Increase production of Halal Meat and Aqua-Marine Products. To provide affordable, halal, nutritious and healthy food in the region.  To empower small farmers to participate in the ASEAN Economic integration thru Contract Growing(PPP)